Frequently Asked Questions … ????
Who is required to have a Boater Safety Certificate?
Everyone who operates a personal watercraft and are at least 14 years of age. Until 2009 operators age 10-13 can still operate with
You wish to operate a motorboat (other than a personal watercraft) and you are at least 10 years old and less than 18 years old.
If you are less than 10 years old you may operate a motorboat (non-PWC) only if someone over 18 is on board with you. Anyone may operate a personal watercraft if someone at least 18 years old is riding on the craft and they hold a safety certificate.
As of October 2013, Everyone who operates a motorboat in Suffolk county.
Our opinion is that soon all persons operating a motorboat in NYS will require Boater Safety Certificate.
Is a certificate the same thing as a license?
There is no boating “license” in NYS. Unlike a license, a certificate is good for life. It does not need to be renewed regularly, as does a license.
It is a NASBLA approved Course that is acceptable by most states.
What is the education requirement for personal watercraft?
All operators of personal watercraft must have a Boating Safety Education Certificate in their possession to operate a personal watercraft.
What is a personal watercraft (PWC)?
A personal watercraft is a boat less than 16 feet in length that uses an internal combustion motor powering a water jet pump as its primary
source of propulsion. It is designed to be operated by a person sitting, standing, or kneeling rather than in the conventional manner of boat operation.
Personal watercraft are better known to the public by brand names that include Jet Ski®, Sea Doo®, Wave Runner®, Tiger Shark®, Wet Jet®, etc.
How do I get a Boating Safety Education Certificate?
You need to successfully complete an 8 hour class by a NYS Certified Instructor or NASBLA approved boating course and accompanying examination. Schedules and course descriptions are listed on our course schedule and location page....GO TO COURSE SCHEDULE AND REGISTRATION PAGE
How much do courses cost?
Boating course fees taught by USBOATSCHOOL.COM vary from location to location, a fee is often required. Fees are listed on the course
schedule and location page....GO TO COURSE SCHEDULE AND REGISTRATION PAGE
A separate fee of $10 is required for all candidates over 18 for NYS to send you a Boater Safety Card. Although Children 10-18 have to pay for
the course, there is no fee for the NYS card.
Can I take an online course?
No. Only certificates issued by New York State, the USCG Auxiliary or the US Power Squadron are acceptable. State law requires that the
New York Safe Boating Program includes at least eight hours of classroom instruction, and a proctored exam. Any certificate issued by the
Coast Guard Auxiliary or Power Squadron is acceptable.
I earned a state safety certificate when I was young. Does that count?
Yes, provided you still have a copy of your original certificate, and you were under the age of 18 at the time. Records do not exist for courses
taught prior to the early 1990's.
I lost my certificate, How can I get a replacement? What if I lost my temporary certificate?
Please complete and print the Application for Replacement NY Safe Boating Certificate and mail it to the address indicated on the form with
a check or money order for $10. Please allow three to four weeks for processing. If you lost your temporary certificate you will have to wait
until your permanent certificate is issued. Temporary certificates cannot be replaced.
Can I get study material before the course
Yes, Click on this link for NYS Textbook
>>>> Register for this course
If you have any other questions please email us INFO@USBOATSCHOOL.COM